4 Questions To Ask Before Starting A Side-Gig

Ja-On Hillman
2 min readMar 2, 2022

We all know there’s no such thing as a get rich quick scheme, so why do we keep falling for them? If you ask these 4 questions, you can quickly protect yourself from potential disappointment.

Photo by Tara Winstead from Pexels

It’s easy to get caught up in the emotion and the excitement of a new side-gig, especially when you are looking for a way to improve your life. There are countless opportunities waiting to be tapped into and while most are legit, you really need to examine if it’s the right fit for you.

Opportunities aren’t one size fit all, and just because one works for a friend or a YouTube influencer, doesn’t mean it will be in your best interests. When I have an idea or opportunity that crosses my path, I take a step back and ask myself 4 questions from the LEAP method.

L: Is it Legal?

This should obvious, and yet people still fall prey to this. It may be theft, illegal drugs, or something else of questionable nature. If it’s not Legal, steer clear! The last thing you want to bring upon your life is legal entanglements that could cause you to lose everything you hold close.

E: Is it Ethical?

This is another one that should be an easy, and yet, people still fall for opportunities like this. If it creates ethical dilemmas or endangers another’s livelihood or community, why would you do it? There’s nothing more noble than providing for your family, but not at the risk of harming someone else’s lifestyle.

A: Does this Align with my beliefs?

I could be making good money selling tobacco or cannabis, as both are legal and ethical where I live. The problem is that it doesn’t Align with my core belief pattern of wellness. And while I would never look down on a person for providing those products, it isn’t something that I choose to have in my lifestyle.

P: Is it Profitable?

Finally, will it make money? Charitable work is a strong cause, but if you can’t support yourself or your family on your venture, you won’t be doing charity for long. Always make sure your side-gig is profitable or that it will be in the near future.

In short

Being excited or energized to take a step into a new side-gig is powerful, terrifying and invigorating. All of these things can lead to rash decisions. When you take a step back and ask yourself the LEAP questions, it shifts your mindset from the emotional to the logical.

It may not be as exciting when you do so, but it’s a lot less emotional than failure.

Join my mailing list for my weekly newsletter!

I did a quick video on the LEAP method on Youtube. Check it out here!

--

--

Ja-On Hillman

How I hate the term, "Lifestyle Design", and yet it is best phrase to use. Over 20 years in Health Care and Entrepreneurship, Automating Cashflow here on out.